New Rockville postcard released

The first postcard of Rockville, Maryland for 2009.

The first postcard of Rockville, Maryland for 2009.

After six months of work, I’ve released another postcard featuring my hometown of Rockville, Maryland.  I only print 500 copies of each postcard so grab them while they’re available.

I created the image last summer last summer and although it took some time to decide on the architectural element that would be highlighted and an appropriate typeface and color, it was finished months ago.  For the background, I used Wire Hardware’s brick wall with its stone foundation.  The hardest job was writing the caption.  I have limited space to describe a complex story to convey the importance of historic preservation and that what we so easily enjoy today was the result of hard work.

So here’s the caption, with thanks to Eileen McGuckian and my wife Mary for their ideas and suggestions:

This quiet corner of Rockville at Church Street and Baltimore Road is one of the city’s first historic districts yet was the scene of some of the toughest battles in historic preservation. When the 1873 B & O Railroad Station was threatened by demolition in the 1980s, the community convinced Metrorail to move the 400-ton building and turn it 180 degrees to protect it. After Wire Hardware closed in 1990, Peerless Rockville purchased the 1895 building when no one else was interested but it required extensive stabilization, a major court battle, and an entrepreneurial new owner to rejuvenate it. Thanks to these tenacious efforts, these historic buildings continue to be used and enjoyed.

I’ve donated a small batch to Peerless Rockville so they can raise some money from sales.  Dean Evangelista is encouraging me to sell them via the CVS Drugstores and I’ll need to find a contact.   Not sure where I’ll go with the next postcard, but it’ll either feature the West Montgomery Historic District or Rockville’s modern architecture (which suffered two major losses in the last few years).

